wine flask for Omar Khayyam

5 03 2009

bottle stopper for

The Art of Opening: Bottles and Their Stoppers for SNAG 09 Philadelphia

As I don’t really drink, I used poetry as the access point for understanding those who do.
This year is the 150th anniversary of the first English translation of the Rubbaiyat of Omar Khayyam by Edward Fitzgerald. The 11th century poem is an ode to wine, god, mathematics, friends, nihilism and more wine.

The flask includes quatrain 11 of the first edition and uses Hoefler Text Italic, a font so lovely it makes my chest hurt:

Here with a Loaf of Bread beneath the Bough,
A Flask of Wine, a Book of Verse – and Thou
Beside me singing in the Wilderness –
And Wilderness is Paradise enow.

The lettering itself can really only be seen once the decanter is full of red wine.

I find the use of the conjunction “and” in the poem endearing.  It feels inclusive, welcoming, tied to abundance.  I’ve expressed “and” as the ampersand which is at its very best in this particular font.

glass, sterling, mother of pearl, cork.

my photo set-up is pretty rudimentary here so the pictures aren’t the quality i would normally go for.  but i’m learning to make do.

Actions

Information

5 responses

6 03 2009
Sonya Clay

I want this! This is the greatest example of form, function and feeling I have ever seen and I want it on my table…..

Give ya a dollar….

6 03 2009
kristinbeeler

thank sss.
it’s was supposed to be a valentine’s present for F.
unless it sells during the show and then he just wants the cash.

20 03 2009
Denise

ohhhh, this is so pretty! I want it. How come ‘F’ gets everything? Just think how pretty is would look on my table with Diet Pepsi in it???????

7 04 2009
art of opening announcement « three.six.five

[…] see post. […]

14 02 2010
Douglas Close

So very cool and beautiful – matches the poem.

Leave a Reply

